Song dedicated to Occupational Therapy

May 4, 2007 at 1:45 am 11 comments

As we all know, April is Occupational Therapy Month. Well, Boaz from Boaz and the Band wrote a song specifically for us OT’s! It’s a great song that touches on all sorts of activities of daily living, cognition, and the need for OT in addition to speech and physical therapy.

Sit back and enjoy!

Here are the lyrics, which I typed as fast as I could while listening to the song. Hopefully, I got at least most of them right:

OT song:
I woke up this morning
I couldn’t even get out of bed
I stumbled on my feet to brush my teeth
and I didn’t have the strength…to find my sink

(chorus)
It sounds like I need some OT
It sounds like I need some OT
It sounds like I need some occupational therapy

So they dragged me out of bed
To do some therapy activity
To bake a cake and fold some clothes
They told me I can’t go home
unless I’m safe when I’m alone
It looks to me instead…that someone is just lazy

(chorus)
It sounds like I need some OT
It sounds like I need some OT
It sounds like I need some occupational therapy

So if you find yourself putting on your t-shirt wrong
or sometimes wondering if you’ve left your stove on
Lets make it very clear…You don’t need physical therapy

(chorus)
It sounds like you need some OT
It sounds like you need some OT
It sounds like you need some occupational therapy
lalalalalalalalala

Now wait a minute, is there a speech therapist in the house?

(chorus)
It sounds like you need some OT
It sounds like you need some OT
It sounds like you need some occupational therapy

Sometimes we forget about that other therapy
we always seem to think physical therapy
but without OT, people are going to think…and would be stinky

So thank you, OT
For all you do, thank you
Thank you, thank you occupational therapy

You need some OT? You know you do!
Who’s the vice president?
You need some OT? Your shoelaces are untied
You need some OT? Your fly is open
You need some OT? You know you want some?
You need some OT? You know you do.

(Hat tip: Penny via SG)

Entry filed under: occupational therapy, OT, OT Month, song about OT.

Getting a Job and New Links Added I’m male!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jillian  |  May 7, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Welcome to the OT professioan Aishel. The song is cool. Well done. Pretty catchy tune. Keep on blogging. Good for the profession.
    Cheers!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Hi Aishel
    What a great blog and very impressive song! We love occupational therapy week – we get to tell everyone how fabulous we are and what a great profession we belong to. Any more songs??!!
    thanks, and come visit me again, janeoccupationaltherapy.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. jane  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:13 am

    Whooooops – still learning, feel free to get rid of my first comment, but hopefully this comment will have a link to my blog….fingers crossed!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacy  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:13 am

    Hey aishel
    Welcome to the wonderful world of OT!
    You have some awesome friends to back your cause by writing a song!
    Keep blogging, especially now that you have a new job, I’ll be interested to see how your finding the real OT work, I just love it!

    Reply
  • 5. cathy  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Your site is looking great. I am part of a resaerch group in New Zealand looking at how to raise the profile of OT through web 2.0 and we’ve been really impressed with your site tonight. Keep it up Aishel! Sorry about the bombardment of comments from NZ tonight!!

    Reply
  • 6. muzz  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Hope you are enjoying working in your new found profession. It is a really rewarding and exciting career and I am sure you will love it. The lyrics of your song are very catchy.
    I just found your site to night and it looks really interesting. I am an occupational therapist working neurological rehabilitation, my interest area is brain injury. I have just returned from a conference focusing on brain impairment in Brisbane, Australia and I am feeling very inspired. Come and visit my site, I am just starting it up and learning …by trial and error!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Christy  |  May 7, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Hi Aishel
    As you can tell by the influx of comments, our web 2.0 tools group came across your website tonight! Thanks for posting the OT song – I was really impressed to see and hear it (even tho it may be the first and last song to be written about OT! hehe). Great to see you blogging about your experiences as a new grad OT and for adding us onto your blogroll and sending some traffic our way! Will keep an eye on your site.

    Reply
  • 8. aishel OT  |  May 7, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Wow! Imagine my surprise this morning when I woke up to find 7 new comments!

    From the comments, it looks like some of you think that I wrote the song or it was my friend who wrote it. Actually, a fellow OT friend was using YouTube for the first time ever and came across the song and then sent it to me. Just wanted to get the facts straight.

    Anyway, thanks for your comments everyone!

    Reply
  • 9. willwade  |  May 9, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    thats fantastic. Good work!

    Reply
  • 10. abby  |  June 25, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Cute song. Expand into t-shirts…that use some of those lyrics! We need people to remember “the other therapy”
    and I like it that you make it sound like everybody needs their OT’s at breakfast to eat, get dressed, and get the brain working 🙂

    But do I have to remember the vice president? I keep trying to forget him. Haha.

    Reply
  • 11. Occupational Therapy University  |  November 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Nice and Cool Song

    This is very nice way to teach people !
    I should try to make a lyrics like that

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 364,796 hits
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Categories

RSS OT in the blogosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

