I’m male!

May 9, 2007 at 2:05 am 4 comments

This has come up a few times in emails that people have sent me, so I just wanted to set the record straight: I’m male! OT practice says that only 5% of all OT’s are male*, so I definitely understand the confusion. But I did just want to make it clear to everyone that I am male.

*American Occupational Therapy Association. (2006). 2006 AOTA workforce and compensation survey: Occupational therapy salaries and job opportunities continue to improve. [Electronic Version]. OT Practice, 11(17), 10-12.

Entry filed under: males in OT, occupational therapy, OT.

Song dedicated to Occupational Therapy OT in the Army

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nathan  |  May 9, 2007 at 3:32 am

    I hear ya…

    I’m a male OT in New Zealand studying towards an Honours degree. I was pretty lucky in that there were 5 guys in my undergraduate class of 50, which is pretty much double the average gender ratio, but out in practice its much lower! I’m one oF two male OTs in the hospital I work at.

    But hey, we got free “male-only” lunches at school, so it’s not all bad…

    Nathan

    http://shigakiwi.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. penny  |  May 9, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    And straight (feel free to delete that).

    But seriously, I am working on an initiative to address the shortage of SLPs in health care and one of the biggest reasons that there is a shortage of SLPs (both in health care and the schools) is because it is such a female dominated field. There is so much turnover due to “family circumstances” etc. that it is killing the profession. I can only assume that the field of OT has the same difficulties. Good for you for making a difference!

    Reply
  • 3. michael  |  May 19, 2007 at 7:52 am

    I’m a male OT who has worked in both Canada (where I trained) and in Japan (my place of birth). Like Natan, I was the only male in my graduating class. I want to encourage all of my male colleagues to hang in there because this profession will reveal that it was the best choice you could have made on many levels. One of the benefits I have found is that in a female-dominated profession, males are remarkable and, well, ‘special’. When you’re part of the 5% people notice you and even celebrate your existence. There is nothing like belonging to a group of compassionate, highly intelligent and skilled professionals. I think it has afforded me special treatment in many instances, and I think there is some credence to the persistence that men still have an advantage for advancement (I support change to this condition as I desire a fairer circumstance for my daughter when she grows up).
    So, woohoo!, yay!! thank God we are here!; the men of OT!

    Reply
  • 4. 1 like  |  October 20, 2014 at 12:28 am

    1 like

    I’m male! | Occupational Therapy – A Blog about OT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 364,857 hits
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Categories

RSS OT in the blogosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

