Dr. Michael Iwama!

May 16, 2007 at 4:59 am 9 comments


Wow. That’s all I can say after meeting Dr. Michael Iwama, founder of the Kawa (river) Model. As graduation approaches (7 days!), we had a Scholarship Day, where we presented our findings from our research projects. For the past 6 months, we developed, planned, implemented, and analyzed data for various research projects. So at Scholarship Day, we presented our findings to the entire faculty, as well as the keynote speaker.

We were fortunate enough to have Dr. Michael Iwama come in from the University of Toronto to give his keynote speech. His speech today was about culture, and how it can be defined as people who come from different spheres of experiences. Overall, it was a great speech. It is really interesting how people from different cultures conceptualize occupation and the way intervention should be. After meeting Dr. Iwama, I discovered that he is a “cool” guy, who is very interested in hearing what you have to say, and has a great demeanor.

As the only male graduating this semester, I made sure to get a picture of the two of us, and when I posted it on my Facebook account, he even commented on it! Not only that, but he responded to my email, when I thanked him for coming.

So in summary, this was a great day, as I got to meet one of the up and coming influential people in occupational therapy. I happen to like this model a lot, and see it as being very useful in working with patients from different cultures. Everyone should check out his website, as well as the discussion forums, which Dr. Iwama checks regularly and responds to people’s questions and comments.

Just out of curiosity, are any of my readers familiar with the Kawa Model? Should I make a post about the model?

Entry filed under: Dr. Michael Iwama, Kawa River Model, occupational therapy, OT, OT theory.

OT in the Army Graduation

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  May 18, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Yes, you have to explain the model because I am ignorant. I am so pleased you have had such a good experience w/ Dr. Iwama!

    Reply
  • 2. Michael  |  May 19, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Hi Natan: hey, what a great blog this is! Way to go… I knew from talking with you on scholarship day that you were a pretty special fellow. And thanks for the very kind write-up. I had to struggle not to blush while reading it.

    Karen, I agree it would be nice to have Natan explain the kawa model in his words. But I happen to know he is into the thick of his final exams before he graduates (as a bonafide occupational therapist!). So in the interim, may I suggest you have a quick look at http://www.kawamodel.com ? You’ll find an easy to read set of pages there with a few visuals to help you understand the concepts. Its one of the easiest natural frameworks out there and its being embraced by OTs all over the world. The discussion section grows weekly. Hope you all like it.
    What a great guy Natan is… What a great faculty, students and program at Towson University!

    Reply
  • 3. Merrolee  |  May 20, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Hey Michael
    Great to see you online here – I was going to post your site for Karen the other day but hadn’t quite got back to here! Glad to see your discussion forums are growing – OT’s in Aotearoa /New Zealand are starting to be aware of Web 2.0 tools – have a group of OT’s learning how.. which is helping us to connect up with OT students such as Karen and OT’s in England as well.. exciting times! So where’s your blog???

    Reply
  • 4. Merrolee  |  June 6, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I’m just going about trying to get all occupational therapy blog feed into my bloglines page (http://www.bloglines.com/public/merrolee).

    While I’m at it… I’m also sharing around Will’s last posting from his blog…

    Read on
    The OT blogosphere has really taken off over the past few months. Without a doubt this is pretty much down to Merrolee’s group in New Zealand but also to student’s and of course a few bods like James Lampert Housing-OT Blog and Chris’ ABC Therapeutics Blog in the States.

    Merrolee and I were talking on GTalk just the other night and discussing ways on broadening the blogosphere / getting methods on us all talking to each other. Then something struck me. In a lot of other communities on the net these various bloggers and community members get together once in a while – yes, actually get away from a computer! Call it a meetup, blogmeet – whatever. I can’t accommodate the world (although hey, your’re all invited!) so I have setup a upcoming group for anyone to join titled “OT’s On The Net – UK” and in the upcoming future (like it?) I will organise a suitable venue/date to have a beverage and a chat. So, if your in the UK and reading this.. thinking of starting a Blog, contributing to the net in someway and your an OT (or student OT) then add yourself to the group to be informed of when/where!

    Update I stupidly forgot to post the URL in the first revision of this post. To add yourself go to : http://upcoming.yahoo.com/group/3203/ (It’s a yahoo application so you will need to join yahoo?

    So… join up on the yahoo group set up by Will, make sure you blog is connected in my bloglines page (http://www.bloglines.com/public/merrolee) and lets spread the message!

    Reply
  • 5. Veroníca  |  July 7, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Hello, I am a student of Occupational Therapy of Chile, and need information of Michael Iwama the great creator of the Model Kawa, if you can help me would be grateful for it to you very much.
    That you are well good-bye

    Reply
  • 6. Katten Försvann  |  October 12, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Love this model!
    But I have a problem with it, I can not translate it in Swedish 😦

    Reply
  • 7. suzanne  |  May 8, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Hi,

    Excellent blog 🙂 I am currently seeking a male Occupational Therapist for a job in Dubai United Arab Emirates! If you may be interested please email me suzannenicho@yahoo.co.uk

    Reply
  • 8. Bhumi  |  December 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Hey Natan! I’m so glad you mentioned the Kawa River Model, because we learned about it in school and I think it is excellent. I’m an OT student going onto my Level II fieldwork soon and I really am curious about how to apply it to the behavioral/mental health setting. During clinicals in school, we ran a group where the patients sat together and actually drew out their own river, discussing each component they drew, and we used the subsequent discussion to talk about goal planning and support systems, etc. However, I was wondering if you had any other ideas. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. mjh333  |  February 17, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    A great honour! I am a massive fan of the Kawa model, I am currently on placement for my OT degree and am doing my first assessment tomorrow using the model so would love any advice 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 360,607 hits
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Categories

RSS OT in the blogosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

