Splints I have Fabricated

February 21, 2008 at 10:05 pm 6 comments

Here’s a list of some of the splints I have either fabricated myself or got assistance in fabricating:

  • Several below knee amputation splints
  • Resting hand splints (actually, these are pre-fabricated)
  • Humeral fracture brace (two pieces; protects the humerus from getting bumped by others; limits some shoulder range of motion if the doctor chooses)
  • Several posterior gutter splints (usually for protection of an elbow status post ORIF; often, the splint starts along the forearm and extends down to the carpals)
  • Yesterday, I helped with two splints (both on the same person, one for each hand): Ulnar gutter splint that involved providing slight MCP flexion for the 4th and 5th digits; and a resting hand splint that only provided ‘rest’ for the index finger through the MCP, but allowed for free range of motion of the PIP and DIP, and the rest of the fingers.

Sometimes the orders can be very complicated and specific, such as the ones highlighted in the last bullet above.  But I really enjoy making the splints, and am more and more strongly considering to specialize in splinting.

Entry filed under: acute care, hospital, occupational therapy, ortho, OT, phys dys, splint. Tags: , , , .

Studying Abroad Ethical Dilemma with Treating Unethical Patients

6 Comments Add your own

  • […] therapists is for joint protection and to preserve function and range of motion.  I have blogged before about my experience with fabricating below knee amputation (BKA) splints, used to preserve knee […]

    Reply
  • 2. kathy  |  August 9, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I am an OT student. I have to decode what splint to make for a patient with a diagnosis of Guillaine Barre. this splint is to be used during functional activities. The patient is unable to hold a intrinsic plus position. I can not figure this case out. can anyone help me decide which splint to make?

    Reply
  • 3. http://tinyurl.com/clerelias44250  |  February 5, 2013 at 12:41 am

    I really blog too and I am posting a thing alike to this posting, “Splints I
    have Fabricated Occupational Therapy – A Blog about OT”.

    Do you really care in cases where I personallyutilise a little of
    your ideas? Many thanks ,Katja

    Reply
  • 4. audio 2000  |  May 23, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

    Reply
  • 5. polskie szafiarki  |  June 18, 2013 at 3:48 am

    Hi, every time i used to check weblog posts here in the
    early hours in the morning, for the reason that
    i like to find out more and more.

    Reply
  • 6. Dolores  |  June 23, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are
    you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 360,607 hits
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Feeds

Categories

RSS OT in the blogosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

